Thursday, August 11, 2016

Wrestling: HWS district, region realignment at glance

The next phase toward district and region realignment statewide in New Jersey is taking place today during a meeting at NJSIAA headquarters in Robbinsville where some school administrators are getting their first look at what is likely to come in the 2016-17 season.

The wrestling committee voted unanimously last month to send what is according to several sources radical district and region realignment for the coming season on to the next level. The committee has done a pretty good job of keeping what it will look like under wraps, much to the chagrin of many athletic directors and coaches, who have been kept in the dark during this process.

Open Mike has obtained what a few of the districts will look like as voted on in July. From what we've learned, this will dramatically alter the landscape up north, especially with regard to Region 1, which has long been recognized as one of the toughest in the state.

Phillipsburg and Warren Hills would be moving to Region 3, which would include Delbarton and Hanover Park. That region would likely be held at West Orange. The Hunterdon County schools are separating, while High Point and Newton would break away from Kittatinny for district purposes.

Warren Hills, according to sources, would travel to North Bergen for the district tournament.

This plan, supposedly, was to be less of a dramatic shift statewide and would factor in the average of a school's power point totals for the past five seasons in addition to northing numbers.

Don't like it so far? Take a look at what some of these districts involving the Hunterdon-Warren-Sussex area will be. Check back here for more information as it filters in.

High Point, Newton, North Warren, Dumont, Pascack Valley, Old Tappan, Ramapo, Ridgewood and Westwood -- a district in Region 1

North Hunterdon, Bernards, Carteret, Irvington, Metuchen, Ridge, Roselle Park, Somerville, Weequahic and Westfield -- a district in Region 4

Hunterdon Central, Franklin, Hillsborough, Keansburg, Middletown North, Middletown South, South River, Spotswood and West Windsor North -- a district in Region 5

Delaware Valley, Edison, Marlboro, Old Bridge, Pingry, Princeton, Rumson-Fair Haven, St. John Vianney, Sayreville and West Windsor South -- a district in Region 5

No comments:

Post a Comment