Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Wrestling: Hanover Park pulled from Boresch Duals

The 10th annual Henry Boresch Duals at Newton High School on Saturday got a little lighter on Tuesday when No. 1 seed Hanover Park was forced to withdraw due to a scheduling conflict.

The Hornets, last year's Group 2 runners-up, were a late entrant into today's Mountain Lakes Tournament and coach James LaValle apparently did not realize that New Jersey rules do not allow teams to compete in more than one tournament per week.

"I think their understanding was that it's like a quad, where they will wrestle three [dual] matches," said Newton coach Eric Bollette, whose teams have competed in five of the previous eight championship matches -- winning four. "We're disappointed."

No. 2 seed Howell is perhaps even more disappointed as it was likely anticipating a showdown with Hanover Park in the title match. Hanover Park defeated Howell in last year's semifinals before earning a 35-29 win over Raritan in the final.

South Plainfield originally drew the No. 3 seed for Saturday. Morris Knolls, Caldwell, Middle Township and Northern Burlington round out the field, which is now down to seven teams. Bollette is advertising for an eighth team and anyone interested can reach him via email -- ebollette@newtonnj.org.

Cost is $8 for adults and $5 for students. Weigh-ins will be held from 7 to 8:30 a.m. Wrestling starts at 9 a.m. All times approximate as a new round will begin following the completion of the previous session.

Here is the schedule (approximate times following the opening round):

Quarterfinals, 9 a.m.

1 vs. 8
5 vs. 4

Quarterfinals, 10:30 a.m.

3 vs. 6
2 vs. 7

Wrestleback semifinals, noon

1 vs. 8  loser vs. 5 vs. 4 loser
2 vs. 7 loser vs. 3 vs. 6 loser

Semifinals, 1:30 p.m.

Consolation round, 3 p.m.

Fifth and seventh place matches.

Championship round, 4:30 p.m.

First and third place matches.

Memory lane of champions

2006 -- Don Bosco 50, Haddonfield 24

2007 -- Newton 54, Pequannock 9

2008 -- Newton 36, Haddonfield 31

2009 -- Newton 43, Haddonfield 18

2010 -- Newton 34, Don Bosco 32

2011 -- Raritan 41, Newton 24

2012 -- South Plainfield 47, Raritan 18

2013 -- South Plainfield 62, Raritan 8

2014 -- Hanover Park 35, Raritan 29

No comments:

Post a Comment