Friday, December 26, 2014

Wrestling: John Goles Invitational preview, info

What: John Goles Invitational Tournament (57th annual).

When: Saturday.

Where: Warren Hills Regional High School, Washington Township.

Participating teams: Delaware Valley; Edison; Millburn; Newton; North Hunterdon; Scotch Plains-Fanwood; South Brunswick; Warren Hills; West Morris; West Windsor South.

Schedule (approximate): Pigtails and quarterfinals, 9 a.m.; Wrestlebacks, noon; Semifinals, 1 p.m.; Wrestlebacks, 3:30 p.m.; Consolation finals, 4 p.m.; Championships, 5 p.m.

Returning champions (this year's weights): Paul Robinson, North Hunterdon (113); Matt Valli, Warren Hills (injured, won't compete); Ryan Pomrinca, North Hunterdon (126); John Fluck, Warren Hills (126); Ryan Erwin, Delaware Valley (132); Max Nauta, Warren Hills (138); Billy Povalac, Edison (145); Brian Lapham, Scotch Plains-Fanwood (152); Mike Sicola, North Hunterdon (160); Gus Protogeropoulos, Newton (220).

Others to watchShane Metzler, West Morris (106, District 1 runner-up); Robert Cleary, Edison (120, District 19 champion, Region 5 runner-up); Dylan Luciano, West Morris (120, Three-time Region 1 qualifier, Goles runner-up); David Migliaccio, West Morris (145, three-time District 1 runner-up, two-time Goles runner-up); Andrew Pacheco, Warren Hills (285, District 1 and Region champion, sixth place in states).

Notes: Robinson and Nauta are looking to join only 33 other wrestlers who have won three Goles titles. Pomrinca, who became the first North Hunterdon wrestler to win three last year, is aiming to join an exclusive list of four-time winners (currently six). Nauta is looking to become only the 17th Blue Streak to win three -- the last was Matt Artigliere (2007-09). ... North Hunterdon looks like the favorite to unseat host Warren Hills, the defending team champion. The Streaks have won or shared 22 championships since the tournament's inception in 1958. Delaware Valley has claimed 10 of the last 16 team titles. North Hunterdon, which re-joined the field in 2008 after a seventh-place finish in 1958, won its only title in 2011. ... Newton, for just the second time since 2000, did not have a champion in 2012, but got back on the board a year ago with Protogeropoulos. Assistant coaches Andy Iliff (1985-86) and Ted Sibblies (1987-88) were two-time winners for the Braves. Del Val assistant Gregg Wiseburn (1999-2000) and North Hunterdon assistant Chris Hrunka (2006) were also champs for the Blue Streaks. Millburn coach Mike Artigliere was a two-time champ for Madison (1985-86).

No comments:

Post a Comment