Sunday, January 1, 2017

Wrestling: State powers headline Boresch Duals

Two of the state's top teams will battle for the championship in the 12th annual Henry Boresch Duals on Saturday at Newton High School. Action gets underway at 9 a.m.

South Plainfield, the 2016 champion, is the No. 1 seed. The Tigers have been regulars in this event -- also winning championships in 2012 and '13, while making the finals in '15, under former coach Kevin McCann, who is the school's athletic director. Bill Pavlak is now in his second stint as the Middlesex County program's head coach.

Hanover Park, which won its only title in 2014, is the No. 2 seed. Coach James Lavalle's Hornets, who won the Group 2 title in 2015, scored a big 35-33 win vs. Don Bosco Prep on New Year's Eve.

Also returning from last year are No. 4 seed Northern Burlington and No. 3 seed Caldwell, which stunned Hanover Park with a 32-31 win in last season's North 2, Group 2 semis. Four-time winner Newton drew the No. 5 seed, while Mahwah (No. 8 seed) is making its second appearance in the Boresch Duals and first since 2011. Newcomers New Milford (No. 6 seed) and Morris Hills (No. 7 seed) round out the field.

Morris Hills is coached by Brian Bollette, a former star at Kittatinny and the younger brother of Newton coach Eric Bollette.

Cost is $8 for adults and $5 for students. Weigh-ins will be held from 7 to 8:30 a.m. Wrestling starts at 9 a.m. All times approximate as a new round will begin following the completion of the previous session.

Here is the schedule (approximate times following the opening round):

Quarterfinals, 9 a.m.

3-Caldwell vs. 6-New Milford
2-Hanover Park vs. 7-Morris Hills

Quarterfinals, 10:30 a.m.

1-South Plainfield vs. 8-Mahwah
4-Northern Burlington vs. 5-Newton

Wrestleback semifinals, noon

Caldwell-New Milford loser vs. Hanover Park-Morris Hills loser
South Plainfield-Mahwah loser vs. Northern Burlington-Newton loser

Semifinals, 1:30 p.m.

Caldwell-New Milford winner vs. Hanover Park-Morris Hills winner
South Plainfield-Mahwah winner vs. Northern Burlington-Newton winner

Consolation round, 3 p.m.

Fifth and seventh place matches.

Championship round, 4:30 p.m.

First and third place matches.

Memory lane of champions

2006 -- Don Bosco 50, Haddonfield 24

2007 -- Newton 54, Pequannock 9

2008 -- Newton 36, Haddonfield 31

2009 -- Newton 43, Haddonfield 18

2010 -- Newton 34, Don Bosco 32

2011 -- Raritan 41, Newton 24

2012 -- South Plainfield 47, Raritan 18

2013 -- South Plainfield 62, Raritan 8

2014 -- Hanover Park 35, Raritan 29

2015 -- Howell 40, South Plainfield 15

2016 -- South Plainfield 45, Howell 20

No comments:

Post a Comment