Thursday, March 7, 2013

Wrestling: Atlantic City by the numbers

42 -- Highest number of individual wins entering the tournament. That distinction belongs to Summit's Anthony Larussi, who is 42-0 at 220 pounds. By the way, Enzo Catullo (1984-85) is the Union County school's only state champion. Three others in this year's field have 40 wins. South Plainfield's Scott DelVecchio and Toms River South's B.J. Clagon are 40-0 at 132 and 145, respectively, while Penns Grove's Nick Elmer is 40-3 at 170.

8 -- Returning champions in this year's tournament, including three-time winner Anthony Ashnault and teammate Scott DelVecchio of South Plainfield, along with two-time champ Brenden Calas of Seton Hall Prep. Other 2012 winners are Watchung Hills' Mike Magaldo, Toms River South's B.J. Clagon, Bergen Catholic's Johnny Sebastian and Don Bosco's Razohnn Gross. Camden Catholic's T.J. Miller won in 2011.

2 -- Livingston's total number of state champions -- Anthony Ialeggio (1993) and Paul Devlin ('99). Senior Jason Estevez, who finished third at 132 last year is looking to become the Essex County school's third champ. The No. 2 also is significant because Lancers coach Tom Noto is South River's lone state champion -- winning back-to-back titles in 1998-99.

10 -- Region 2 and 3's total number of returning placewinners, the most among all eight regions. Region 2 features a pair of state champs in Bergen Catholic's Johnny Sebastian and Don Bosco's Razohnn Gross. Region 6 is next with 9 medal winners.

101 -- Combined number of state champions from Bergen County, trailing only Union (129) and Sussex (113). Bergen had two winners last year in Bergen Catholic's Johnny Sebastian and Don Bosco's Razohnn Gross and could very well add to that total in this year's tournament. Prior to that, Frank Cagnina of Queen of Peace was Bergen's last winner in 2010. The county's first champion was Ludlow Gibbons of Teaneck, who won the 125-pound title in 1934. Teaneck leads the county with 27 state golds.

46 -- Number of years without a state champion for Scotch Plains-Fanwood. Senior Anthony Tufaro, who finished eighth at 285 last year, is looking to become the Union County school's fourth champ and its first since Rudy Lanza capped the program's run of three titles in three years by winning the 136-pound crown in 1967. Harry Wowchuck was the first winner in 1965, followed by Steve Parker in '66.

82 -- Total number of state champions for Newton High School, a state record. The Sussex County school has one entry this year in senior Josh Sibblies at 182. The Braves have had at least one qualifier in nine straight tournaments. Sibblies' father, Ted, was a runner-up for Newton in 1989, while fellow assistant coach Andy Iliff is the school's last champion -- winning back-to-back in 1986 and '87.

946 -- Total number of state champions in New Jersey history. This year's tournament is the 80th overall since 1934 -- when Newton's Leo Snover won the first state title and started the Sussex County school's run to a state record 82 champs.

No comments:

Post a Comment