Thursday, January 7, 2016

Wrestling: Boresch Duals set with another stellar field

Three of the state's top teams will battle for the championship in the 11th annual Henry Boresch Duals on Saturday, Jan. 16 at Newton High School.

Howell, the 2015 Boresch Duals champion, headlines the field as the No. 7 ranked team in the state, according to the New Jersey Wrestling Writers Association. Coach John Gagliano's Rebels, who earned a 40-15 win over South Plainfield in last year's title match, are the No. 1 seed.

No. 14 Hanover Park, which had to withdraw last year because New Jersey rules do not allow teams to compete in more than one tournament per week, is the No. 2 seed. Coach James Lavalle's Hornets are the defending Group 2 champions.

No. 16 South Plainfield, a Boresch Duals regular, drew the No. 3 seed. Coach Kevin McCann's Tigers won championships in 2012 and '13.

Also returning from last year are fourth-seeded Northern Burlington, fifth-seeded Morris Knolls and sixth-seeded Caldwell. Newton (No. 7 seed) and newcomer Cliffside Park (No. 8 seed) round out the field.

Cost is $8 for adults and $5 for students. Weigh-ins will be held from 7 to 8:30 a.m. Wrestling starts at 9 a.m. All times approximate as a new round will begin following the completion of the previous session.

Here is the schedule (approximate times following the opening round):

Quarterfinals, 9 a.m.

3-South Plainfield vs. 6-Caldwell
2-Hanover Park vs. 7-Newton

Quarterfinals, 10:30 a.m.

1-Howell vs. 8-Cliffside Park
4-Northern Burlington vs. 5-Morris Knolls

Wrestleback semifinals, noon

Howell-Cliffside Park loser vs. Morris Knolls-Northern Burlington loser
Hanover Park-Newton loser vs. South Plainfield-Caldwell loser

Semifinals, 1:30 p.m.

Howell-Cliffside Park winner vs. Morris Knolls-Northern Burlington winner
Hanover Park-Newton winner vs. South Plainfield-Caldwell winner

Consolation round, 3 p.m.

Fifth and seventh place matches.

Championship round, 4:30 p.m.

First and third place matches.

Memory lane of champions

2006 -- Don Bosco 50, Haddonfield 24

2007 -- Newton 54, Pequannock 9

2008 -- Newton 36, Haddonfield 31

2009 -- Newton 43, Haddonfield 18

2010 -- Newton 34, Don Bosco 32

2011 -- Raritan 41, Newton 24

2012 -- South Plainfield 47, Raritan 18

2013 -- South Plainfield 62, Raritan 8

2014 -- Hanover Park 35, Raritan 29

2015 -- Howell 40, South Plainfield 15

No comments:

Post a Comment